Alaska HAB Expertise database

Name Title/Organization HABS Specialty Field by training
Naomi Bargmann

Environmental Lab Specialist, Sitka Tribe of Alaska

naomi.bargmann@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

Laboratory methods for toxin analysis, public communication Biology, wildlife biology
Louisa Castrodale

 

Epidemiologist, AK Dept of Health and Social Services, Anchorage

louisa.castrodale@alaska.gov 

Surveillance for human illness from shellfish toxins Epidemiology, veterinary science
Darcy Dugan

Alaska OA Network Director, Alaska Ocean Observing System, Anchorage

dugan@aoos.org

Facilitating interaction between researchers and stakeholders, HABS website Environmental science & policy
Ginny Eckert

Associate Director for Research, Alaska Sea Grant, Juneau

gleckert@alaska.edu

Shellfish biology; nearshore plankton dynamics; community engagement; marine ecology Fisheries ecology and oceanography, marine biology and marine invertebrates
Melissa Good

Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program Agent, Unalaska

melissa.good@alaska.edu

Conducting local monitoring, developing community based monitoring, extension and outreach Fisheries management, marine biology, outreach
Kris Holderied

Director, NOAA Kasitsna Bay Lab, Seldovia, AK

Kris.Holderied@noaa.gov

HAB monitoring, research and response, how changing ocean conditions affect Alaska coastal resources and communities Oceanography
Dominic Hondolero

Oceanographer, NOAA Kasitsna Bay Lab, Seldovia, AK

Dominic.Hondolero@noaa.gov

HAB monitoring and research Biology
Steve Kibler

Oceanographer, NOAA National Ocean Service, Beaufort, NC

steve.kibler@noaa.gov

Most aspects of HABs, including ecology, physiology, toxicity, detection and monitoring methods.
Biological oceanography
Kari Lanphier

HABS and ocean acidification project coordinator, Sitka Tribe of Alaska-SEATOR

kari.lanphier@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

Laboratory methods for the analysis of marine biotoxins related to HABs
 Geology
Kathi Lefebvre

Research biologist, NOAA Northwest Fisheries Science Center

kathi.lefebvre@noaa.gov

Marine seafood toxins on wildlife and human health
Biology and marine science
Rosie Masui

Harmful Species Technician, Kachemak Bay Research Reserve, Homer

rmrobinson3@alaska.edu

HAB community monitoring program in Southcentral; collection and analysis of phytoplankton and shellfish samples; response to HAB events. Biology
Julie Matweyou

Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program Agent, Assistant Professor College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, Kodiak, AK

julie.matweyou@alaska.edu

Paralytic shellfish poisoning, toxin monitoring, research, and education,
community monitoring toward safe shellfish harvest
Biological Oceanography, research emphasis on PSP
Sarah Schoen

Wildlife Biologist, Alaska Science Center, USGS

sschoen@usgs.gov

Investigating biotoxins in seabirds and forage fish Ecology and Zoology
Gay Sheffield

Marine Advisory Fellow, Alaska Sea Grant, Nome

ggsheffield@alaska.edu

Bering Strait observations, sampling, and response; domoic acid/saxotoxin; marine mammals Marine mammal biologist, natural resource management
Raphaela Stimmelmayr

 

North Slope Borough Department of Wildlife Management, Barrow

Raphaela.Stimmelmayr@north-slope.org

Domoic Acid, Saxotoxin, Microcystin, Nodularin ; marine mammals Veterinarian, natural resource management; wildlife biology
Dean Stockwell

Research professor, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks

dastockwell@alaska.edu

 Red tides, brown tides, taxonomy Phytoplankton taxonomy, ecology
Chris Whitehead

Environmental Program manager and director, Sitka Tribe of Alaska and Southeast Alaska Tribal Ocean Research (SEATOR)

chris.whitehead@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

Collaborating and building partnerships for monitoring harmful algal blooms and shellfish toxicity with Tribal governments, state and federal agencies, universities, and non-profit stakeholders. Biology
Alex Whiting

Environmental Program Director, Native Village of Kotzebue

alex.whiting@qira.org

 Kotzebue Sound observations Fisheries, Ecology

Comments are closed.