Shellfish and Phytoplankton Testing Facilities

The following facilities offer testing for shellfish and phytoplankton toxicity.  Please contact the lab directly to make arrangements.  Information on each lab is available by clicking the organization name.

HAB Testing Laboratories

Lab Contact Name Phone Email
AK Dept of Conservation (DEC) Patryce McKinney (907) 375-8206 patryce.mckinney@alaska.gov
Southeast Alaska Tribal Ocean Research (SEATOR) Chris Whitehead, Esther Kennedy, Kari Lanphier, Meredith Redick (907) 966-9650 seator@sitkatribe-nsn.gov
Kachemak Bay Research Reserve (KBNERR) Rosie Robinson & Alice Rademacher (907) 235-4797 rmrobinson3@alaska.edu  ajrademacher@alaska.edu
NOAA-Wildlife Algal-toxin Research and Response Network for the US West Coast (WARRN-West) Kathi LeFebvre (206) 302-2454 kathi.lefebvre@noaa.gov
NOAA NCCOS/Beaufort Lab Steve Kibler
Wayne Litaker
(252) 728-8737, (252) 728-8792 steve.kibler@noaa.gov  wayne.litaker@noaa.gov
USGS Matt Smith, Sarah Schoen, Caroline Van Hemert (907) 786-7184, (907) 786-7467, (907) 786-7167 mmsmith@usgs.gov sschoen@ugsg.gov cvanhemert@usgs.gov
SUNY- Boyer Lab Greg Boyer (315) 470-6825 glboyer@esf.edu
NOAA HAB Event Response Program Marc Suddleson & Quay Dortch (240) 533-0305 (Marc) (240) 533-0287 (Quay) marc.suddleson@noaa.gov quay.dortch@noaa.gov
NOAA NCCOS/Katsitsna Bay Kris Holderied,
Dominic Hondolero
(907) 235-4004
(907) 590-2149
Kris.Holderied@noaa.gov
Dominic.Hondolero@noaa.gov
NWFSC Marine Biotoxins Program
Vera Trainer (206) 860-6788 vera.l.trainer@noaa.gov

 

HAB Testing by Lab

Toxin and Test DEC SEATOR KBNERR WARRN-West NCCOS USGS SUNY-Boyer Available for Contract
Saxitoxin/Alexandrium
Mouse bioassay x DEC ($125/sample)
RBA x x SEATOR ($50/sample)
ELISA x x x x x SEATOR ($50/sample)
HPLC x x x DEC ($125/sample)
QPCR x
Microscopy x x x SEATOR ($25/qualitative sample)
Field Test Kits x x
Domoic Acid/Pseudo-nitzschia
Mouse bioassay
RBA
ELISA x X x x SEATOR ($50/sample)
HPLC x
LC-MS x DEC ($100/sample)
QPCR
Microscopy x x SEATOR ($25/qualitative sample)
Field Test Kits x
Microcystin/Aphanizomenon
Mouse bioassay
RBA x x
ELISA x x
HPLC x
LC-MS x x
QPCR x
Microscopy x
Field Test Kits

Key: RBA = Receptor binding assay; ELISA = Enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay; HPLC = High Performance Liquid Chromatography; LC-MS = Liquid chromatography–mass spectrometry; QPCR = Quantitative Polymerase Chain Reaction

 

Comments are closed.